close Call Us (401) 453-7900

The CNE Claims Management staff and hospital Risk Management staff work in close collaboration with physicians and defense counsel to thoroughly and accurately investigate incidents, claims and/or lawsuits from notification to conclusion. If you've experienced an adverse medical incident or received formal notification of a claim or lawsuit, we're here to help.

Claims Reporting

What should be reported?

  • Attorney notice of representation.
  • Summons and Complaint.
  • Regulatory agency notification (DOH, BOML).
  • Witness subpoenas (deposition or trial).
  • Patient complaint to health care insurer (e.g.: Blue Cross).
  • Patient Complaint (letter, phone call).
  • Involvement in an adverse medical event.
  • Knowledge of/Witness to an adverse medical event.
  • When in doubt, contact us.
How to Report

Contact:
Stephanie Levesque
Phone: (401) 681-2801
Fax: (401) 455-6678
slevesque@carene.org

First Notice of Loss Form (faxed, e-mailed)

Why early notification is important:
(It is best to report adverse medical events as soon as possible.)

  • It allows for clearer recollection of events.
  • Takes the responsibility of dealing with legal issues out of the office.
  • Ensures that you and your practice's best interests are represented.
  • Ensures proper handling of the case.
  • Ensures coverage.
  • Ensures legal representation is hired and available.
  • Allows Claims Management to be proactive.
  • Keeps the office productive.
  • Keeps legal costs low.

Approved Defense Attorney Law Firms

CNE Claims Management Staff
June Azzarone
Associate Claims Analyst
401-681-2808
jazzarone@carene.org
Arleen Carpenter
Claims Manager
401-681-2802
acarpenter@carene.org
Lynda D'Alessio
Claims Analyst
401-681-2813
ldalessio@carene.org
Camille Hamel
Claims Analyst
401-681-2804
chamel@carene.org
Debra Ritchie
Claims Analyst
401-681-2805
dritchie@carene.org
Stephanie Levesque
Claims Coordinator
401-681-2801
slevesque@carene.org
Kent Hospital Risk Management Staff
Ruth Denehy
Director
401-737-7010, ext. 35405
rdenehy@kentri.org
Joseph DiPietro
Senior Vice President & General Counsel
401-737-7010, ext. 31270
jdipietro@kentri.org
Women & Infants Risk Management Staff
Dorothea Calvano
Risk Manager
401-274-1100, ext. 1287
dcalvano@wihri.org

Contact Us

Care New England Risk Management
800 Butler Drive
Providence, RI 02906
P: (401) 681-2809
F: (401) 455-6678

Hours

7 a.m. - 5 p.m. Monday-Friday
Interested in Joining Us?
We are pleased to hear about your interest in obtaining professional liability coverage with the Indemnification Program.

Not only do we offer competitive coverage, an objective of our program is limiting liability. We offer many innovative services such as private office assessments, OSHA training classes for physicians and staff, physician education in the area of risk management and safety inspections. Please contact Kathy Soares for more information.

Kathy Soares

Manager Insurance/Indemnification Programs
800 Butler Drive
Providence, RI 02906
P: (401) 681-2812
F: (401) 455-6678
E: KSoares@carene.org